AnnaLog

i1035 FW1.1

I love notebooks. Oversized, mini sized, desk size, pocket size, hardcover, softcover, lined, plain, gridded (my new favorite) – all are good. I’m not a Moleskine purist, as there are lots of other good makers, but I do have a soft spot for them. I love notebooks in general, so babbling about them here feels natural.

No, these were not all purchased at the same time, and yes, they will all get used, each for its own purpose. I find there’s something in paper and pen that a computer can’t provide. I do write fiction longhand, as well as freewriting, which I also term “bloodletting,” dumping whatever is in my head onto the page until my brain has taken care of that business. When writing the rough-rough draft of a story, it comes more naturally to me with pen on paper than fingers on keys, so I am learning to trust myself and do what comes natural. Sometimes, that’s scary, but onward I go. Doesn’t have to be perfect, only has to be.

I used to be a purist about lined pages and nothing else, but after I tried my first gridded notebook, by Markings (will share Markings books in another post) it was love, pure and deep, so gridded pages are now my preference. I’m trying to figure out how I can best use plain pages, but so far, the blankness baffles me, and the unblemished page is lovely and pristine, but I’m not ready to give up on that format yet. Any plain-page fans have any tips?

Next up: a peek inside

9 thoughts on “AnnaLog

  1. I lovvvve notebooks too. I have not yet been brave enough to buy a “unlined” blank book yet. The blankness is scary. I might draw pictures though, which actually does help–sometimes.

    • The blankness can be scary, which is why it’s something I want to learn to face. Drawing pictures is a great idea. Sometimes I doodle abstract shapes, give up and toss the book aside for a while, but I keep coming back.

  2. I have the same issue – without lines, my writing goes everywhere. I find drawing boxes around things helps some, but it does bother me if my writing isn’t straight.

Leave a Reply

