Closer to Fine

To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.
~ Joseph Chilton Pierce

I have no idea what to write here. Seriously, nothing, but I have less than an hour before writing time begins, so I’m jumping in here, Hypercritical Gremlins muzzled, at least for the moment. If everything I write is going to be wrong, then, does it really matter what I put down? Nope. So anything’s good then. My blog, my rules. Which means, most likely, that I am going to free-form ramble here, until I reach my magic seven hundred words and can hit post.

Today’s workspace picture is kind of cheating, because I’m writing this entry on my laptop. Old desktop (her name is Dahlia) can’t keep up with this newfangled interweb, so she doesn’t do anything that involves talking to other computers. She has Word, though, and Word Pad, so she’s perfectly fine for story stuff, and, with her nice big screen, inspirational photos are much more visible than on a smaller screen, so point Dahlia. I can use my phone for Spotify, a floor lamp pilfered from the living room (and kind of in the middle of this one) for a light source and I am ready to roll. The chair situation is another makeshift arrangement, as it’s a folding camp chair with a squished-flat pillow for a cushion. Not ideal-ideal, but it has a cup holder, and that’s worth something.

Making do and keeping on seem to be a theme at the moment, so I’m going with it. Hopefully, this will turn into some coherent blogging. This past Saturday, our CRRWA meeting’s topic was self-publishing, which I found interesting and plan to find useful, but, right now, my job is to get my current manuscripts done. Head down, eyes on my own paper, left foot, right foot, left foot, right foot, until I reach my destination. It’s got to the point where I’m looking at things differently. I can’t do NaNo style word count goals. I can’t. One way ticket to paralysis right there, and I am not taking that trip one stinking more time. Nope, nope, nope.  Won’t do it, can’t make me.

What works instead is my usual method of jumping in and flailing about until, at some point that always surprises me, I’m not flailing anymore. I know what I’m doing. I look forward to spending time with Hero and Heroine, rather than agonizing over meeting a number or smashing my head against a brick wall, trying to make the voices in my head do what I want. They’d rather do what they want, thankyouverymuch, and the best way I can help them is to follow them around with pen and paper and write down what they do. Jabber about it with like-minded friends who can help me figure out the stuff that isn’t immediately obvious, and then write that down, too. Usually with pen and paper, and then I can transcribe into Scrivener or Word.

Do not ask me right now which one I prefer, because I don’t know. This time, last year, I was one hundred percent a Scrivener convert, but the last couple of days, working in Word has felt like sinking into a warm, relaxing bath. No bells, no whistles, only me and my imaginary friends, having a darned good time, each party bringing us that much closer to our goal of living Happily Ever After.

This morning, I woke to the sound of Skye’s zoomies, which almost always portend her use of her excretory system. I took care of feline output and input, made myself a cup of tea, and booted Dahlia, to see what I could accomplish before the day began in earnest. I’d forgotten how much I’d missed being able to do that, get up before the rest of the house, shut the door, turn on a light and…go. Rather nice, that, and satisfying, as well, to save, shut down, and walk away. Or stay, if I’m so inclined, and open a book at that very same desk, and visit someone else’s imagination for a while, rather than being rushed hither and yon, only able to scan a paragraph or two before my attention is needed and/or wanted elsewhere. I could get used to this.

If I had to describe my process right now in only two words, those two words would be, “in flux.” It’s a changey time, new things coming into play, old things rediscovered, both of them mushing together to make something that hasn’t been there before. I don’t always know what’s going on, but the process of curating what does and what does not, has turned out to be an extremely intuitive endeavor. Enough light for the next step is all that I need, as long as I keep on going.

20160613_110711

2 thoughts on “Closer to Fine

  1. I decided I just need to write a “bullet point list” with the topics to write on today. (Yes, after I finish hubby’s questions.) The Orlando shooting, my Muslim pen pal, and the events of the day could lead to an interesting post. But.not.today. Also, I still have to work on that sauerkraut. 🙂

Leave a Reply

