Typing With Wet Claws: Uncle and Baby Edition

Hello, all. Skye here, for another Feline Friday. It is the conference weekend, which means that Anty is going away for two whole days. Without me. Actually, I am glad she is not taking me, because taking me would mean going in the carrier, and I do not like going in the carrier. It is scary. Home is better.

Technically, Anty will be only gone from Friday morning to Saturday night, but that is a long time for a kitty to be by herself, and by “herself,” I mean me, because I am that kitty. Being alone is not my favorite thing in the world, because I like to be around my people as much as I possibly can, same as Anty. That is why I like to sit in the areas of the apartment where there is the most foot traffic. Then, they will have to see me and pay attention to me. Uncle has to go hunt on both days, so I will have more time by myself than I like to have, but when he does come back from hunting, it will be Uncle and Baby time, all the time. That makes it somewhat better, because I love Uncle and Baby time. Uncle plays with me a lot and gives me scritches. I am not allowed to make any comment on the amount of food he gives me, but I am a happy kitty. I like to sit really really really close to him (on top of his feet is my absolute favorite) and follow him everywhere. By “everywhere,” I do mean everywhere. If the door to the human litterbox room is open, I take that as an invitation and will come in to observe, so Uncle never has to worry about being left alone.

Anty will also not be alone, because she will be with Mama on the drive from NY to MA, and then she will be with Anty Melva for the drive to the conference, and, then, she will be with a whole hotel full of people who also love to write romance novels. Then, when it is over, she will be with Anty Melva for the drive back to meet Mama, (Mama will also not be alone; she will be with Grandma) and then drive back with Mama, until, at last, they are both home, and they can be with Uncle and me. Then we will all be together again. Having all of my humans in the same place is my very favorite thing. Okay, that and treat. I love when my humans give me treat.

I am sure that Anty will come home from the conference with a lot of stories to tell, both fictional and otherwise. I could tell some stories about how Anty tends to get overthinky about pretty much everything before she actually heads out to the conference, but I also remember that she is in charge of how many treats I get, so I will not do that. All I will say is that following her around while she gets her suitcase packed has made me one tired kitty, but that is all part of the job of being a mews. I do not know if there is such a thing as a mews conference, but if there were, I would hope it would be done by remote, so we could attend from the comfort of our own homes. Comfort is a pretty important thing for us mews-es. We have to feel secure and familiar with our surroundings, if we are going to provide inspiration and support for our writers.

In case you did not see last week’s Saturday Discussion post when it was new, Anty talked about comfort reads this week at Buried Under Romance.  Many humans have certain books, or types of books, that they turn to when they need to feel secure and familiar with their stories, and that can mean many different things to different people. Some of Anty’s favorite comfort reads may not seem very comfortable to some readers, but what matters is that they make her happy, and that is reason enough. You can read that post  here, and it looks like this:

 

BUR

What are *your* comfort reads?

 

Anty says it is about time for me to wrap this up, because she has to get going already, so that is going to be about it for this week. Next week, though, is the Tulip Festival, and Anty and Uncle go to that every year, which means that will be another big weekend for Anty, and whole other blog entry for me. I had better start doing my research, so, until next time, I remain very truly yours,

i1035 FW1.1

Until next week…

Skye O’Malley Hart-Bowling
(the kitty, not the book)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

