Typing With Wet Claws: Crabby Holidays Edition

Hello, all. Skye here, for another Feline Friday. Today, you get an edited picture of me, and later than usual, because I am camera shy. Part of the reason is because it has been a challenging week. Part of it is because Anty is crabby. Part of it is because I am a kitty. I think that a few holiday lights would make this picture more seasonal. I know Anty took some pictures of fairy lights for another blog today. Maybe she could blend the two pictures together. I think that would be lovely.

Before I say anything else, Anty has a new post up at Heroes and Heartbreakers, about last night’s The Big Bang Theory. Anty is very happy about what happened on that program, and to share her thoughts on it with all of you. It is here, and it looks like this:

SHAMY

Anty says I cannot use the crabby picture of her again, even though I think it would be a very good illustration. Maybe she needs a new crabby picture, possibly with Uncle’s Bah Humbug hat, because I think the lack of holiday spirit is part of what is making Anty crabby. Anty really loves getting ready for Christmas, and it is only two weeks away now. Here is a list of the preparations she has been able to make this year:

Nothing.

  • Number of Christmas movies watched – zero.
  • Number of Christmas TV show episodes watched -zero.
  • Number of times Christmas playlist has been played – zero.
  • Number of Christmas themed books and/or stories read -zero.

This is a problem. Normally, Anty likes to get the Christmas tree up after Thanksgiving dinner. This year, both she and Uncle were sick, and the next week, too. Then Anty and Uncle got better, but then Mama got sick. Mama is on her way to getting better, so maybe things will go up this week, depending when all the humans are home at the same time, and nobody is sick or tired. That will be an interesting time. It has been like this for the last couple of years, so I am not surprised. Anty will get over this roadblock, and, before we know it, she will be in the mood. (I think church on Sunday will help a lot, because they will be talking about Christmas then.)

I can relate to the crabbiness. I do not like having to wait until evening to post my blog. Being a kitty of habit as I am, my blogs are morning things, and I prefer to get mine up in the  morning. That is not always possible. Today, for instance, Anty needed to help Mama take care of some errands. It is very difficult to open a laptop and turn it on when you only have paws and no opposable thumbs. Also, when you do not climb or jump, and it is on top of a table. So, I had to wait. A long time, since Uncle decided Anty really, really, really needed to be fed when she got back from errands, and then Anty had to do laundry.

A couple of days ago, all of the humans were very, very busy and Mama was sick, so my dinner time got put off. As a kitty of habit, I did not like this at all. I had to get their attention so they would feed me. I ran and ran and ran all over the house at my fastest speed. Uncle calls this  a rip. Then I talked. Since I am a Maine Coon mix, I do not meow like other cats. I make different sounds. My “ek ek ek” sound means that I would very much like food in my dish as soon as possible. I said that very loudly, and that did the trick. Anty paid attention to me and put food in my bowl. I ate it. Then I felt better. She and Uncle apologized to me and gave me scritches and love. That is a happy ending in my book, pun intended.

Here is where Anty can learn from me. When she is crabby, that probably means she is not getting something she needs. Often, that is food, or sleep, or she needs to be around people. When I have one of those needs, I find a human and I ask them. Sometimes, I will use my voice, and other times, I prefer to be quiet, sit very close and stare. Other times, Anty needs something else, like art, gaming, or some time reading a good book. All of those things are needed to fill her well. It is okay to ask for those things when they are needed.

Tonight, Anty and Mama are going to put up the white lights around the doorways to the living room and Uncle’s office. Uncle does not know they are going to do that, so it will be a surprise. I hope it will be a nice one.

Speaking of dinner time, it has rolled around again, so that is about it for this week. Until next time, I remain very truly yours,

i1035 FW1.1

Until next week…

Skye O’Malley Hart-Bowling
(the kitty, not the book)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

