Typing With Wet Claws: Feeling Much Better Edition

Hello, all. Skye here, for another Feline Friday. It has been a momentous week for me, and also for Anty. Everybody at home, really, because this week has mostly been about me. Last week, when I went to the vet, the vet told my humans they should try to get me to eat. That is the kind of vet advice I like to hear. It was not the easiest thing, though, because of my upset tummy.

Anty was very determined to get me to eat. She even got down on the floor, under the bed with me, and shone a flashlight on me to make sure that I was okay. Then she offered me different kinds of food. I did not want to take any at first, because I had been so pukey earlier. I was afraid I would get sick again, but Anty would not give up, She stuck her finger in tuna juice and people baby food and mushy cat food with gravy and rubbed it on my fur. I do not like messy things on my fur, so I licked it off. That was Anty’s sneaky way of making sure I got some food in me. She did that for a couple of days, and even started bringing her tiny glowy box down there so she could talk to other humans while trying to convince me to eat.

After a couple of days, I changed my mind. Anty put the gushy cat food, with gravy, in front of me. That smelled good. I do not normally eat gushy food with gravy. I normally eat fish jelly, which is soft, and my treat, which is crunchy. The gushy food smelled like birdie. The vets said that the medicine Mama squirted in my mouth twice a day for a whole week was birdie flavored. I do not know what kind of birdies they have eaten, but it tasted like medicine to me, plus it was cold. This gushy food was not cold. Anty offered me some gushy food on a soup spoon, and I was tempted, but still scared. Then Anty put some on my mouth fur. She knew I would lick it off. Well, I did. I liked it. I took a very small bite from the food on the spoon, and it was good. I mean really good. I ate a couple more spoonfuls, and then Anty put some of the food on a small people dish. That is what the big picture at the top of the post is from; Anty took pictures of me eating, so Uncle and Mama would know I was doing better even though they were at work.

Anty fed me a few meals like that over the next days. I would get excited when I saw her come with the flashlight and the gushy food and the plate. Here is where Anty got sneaky again. Every meal, she would move the people dish closer to the edge of the bed. If I wanted the food, I had to come closer. Then, one night, when Uncle came home, he rattled my treat bag. I ran out from under the bed, into the hallway and to my regular room, where Purple Bowl is. I only have treat out of Purple Bowl, ever. Anty and Uncle were very happy to see me eat like a normal kitty. The next day, Anty tried feeding me my normal food in my normal bowl, and I ate it.

 

The next thing is kind of gross. Anty has been very interested in my poop. That is getting better, too. I have not peed yet, but Uncle told Anty I have been running around, which I always do before I pee. I like to hold it for a long time and then let it all go at once, so this is normal for me. My old vet once said he never saw so much pee come out of one cat at one time. I set the office record. I had a reputation there, because I made a BIG poop on my first visit. In my defense, I was young and scared and new to the whole pet thing.

Anyway, I am feeling much better now, and can pay better attention to what Anty is doing, so I can tell you all about that. She says this week has been pretty much a wash on writing, but she took good care of me, so it is still a good week. She will write more this coming week, because October is when Anty gets her super writing powers back. The air is cooler, the days are shorter, and the leaves turn wonderful colors. Now that she has her mews back in working order, work will be a lot easier.

She wanted me to mention that she will, once again, be recapping every other episode of Sleepy Hollow at Heroes and Heartbreakers (she shares the job with another human) so that is some writing already. She is very excited about the new season, though there still do not appear to be any cats in this program. Maybe the lack of cats is intentional, to enhance the horror.

It is almost time for people dinner, so that is about it for this week. Until then, I remain very truly yours,

Skye O’Malley Hart-Bowling
(the kitty, not the book)

Until next week...

Until next week…

2 thoughts on “Typing With Wet Claws: Feeling Much Better Edition

  1. Loved this post! So many times I giggled. Glad to hear you are feeling better, Skye. Hoping Anty gete her super powers back and that eventually there will be a cat on Sleepy Hollow. 🙂

    • Thank you, Miss Angelina. I am glad my post made you happy. Feeling better makes me happy. I have had my tail up in the air a lot, usually while on my way to my food dishes. I think Anty’s super powers will come back, and I will be watching for cats on Sleepy Hollow.

      very truly yours,
      Skye O’Malley Hart-Bowling
      (the kitty, not the book)

Leave a Reply

