Typing With Wet Claws: Sensitive Topics Edition

Hello, all. Skye here, for another Feline Friday. This has not been the most comfortable week around here, on more than one level, but that is okay. Anty said I can tell you all about it, so I will.

First, the weather was not good for anybody. None of the humans like hot weather, and neither do I, because I have a full length fur coat. It is built in, so I wear it all the time. On the other paw, I do have full time bare feet (and four of them) so it balances out. Anyway, this whole week up until today was very hot and very humid, so everybody was cranky. The sun was also very bright. Yesterday, Anty tried to go for a walk to the coffee house so she could write, but it was too bright, so she had to come back home for a little while. That meant she got to spend more time with me. That made it better. Okay, it made it better for me. She fed me.

Uncle has started taking pictures of the places I flop when it is too hot. He puts some of them on Facebook so that Anty can see where I flop when she is not at home. The humans have started calling me Speedbump  when I flop in the hallway. It is not my fault. The linoleum is cool, there are no windows, and it is nice and dark there. Frankly, I do not understand why the humans do not flop there when the weather is that oppressive.

Sometimes, Anty puts ice cubes in my water bowls (I have two of them) but I do not lick them, like she says other cats do. I look at them funny and wait for them to melt. I have water bowls, not ice bowls. Anty is silly. I think the sun and heat have got to her brain. That is not good, because she needs her brain for writing.

This week, Anty had her first article published on XOJane.com. That is a website for humans to read about a lot of different things, from clothes and makeup to relationships and interesting things that happen to humans. That is where Anty came in. This next part may be hard for some readers, so it is okay if you do not want to read much further or click on the link.

Before Anty’s papa went to Rainbow Bridge, he was very sick, and he could not do everything that he wanted to do when he was healthy. That meant that other people had to help him, while he was sic and after he went to Rainbow Bridge.  Anty wrote about that in her article. It is here and it looks like this:

Not for gentle readers

Not for gentle readers

Most people who commented on the article said kind things, that they were sad Anty had to go through that, or that they were going through a similar experience. Some said that this helped them make some choices or talk to people they loved about making things easier. Those comments made Anty happy. One person, and probably other people, who did not comment, had a different opinion.

That person ( and probably others who did not comment) thought that Anty should not have written this article, and that she should not have used her real name when she did. Anty can see where that person is coming from, and she did put a lot of thought into what to write and whether she should use her name or not. Anty’s intent was to help other people going through something similar. Sensitive topics like this are not pleasant, but they are part of life.

Anty finds the whole spectrum of life very interesting, and she likes to have that in her fiction as well as her personal experiences. Uncomfortable parts of life are still part of life. Take me, for example. I was born in the wild, so I did not learn how to cuddle or play. Some bad things happened to me before the shelter people rescued me (I got hit by a car, and shelter people took me to the vet) and Mama and Anty found me and brought me home. I was very scared and did not know how to be a pet, but Mama, Anty and Uncle were gentle and patient with me. Now I am a pet. I have a happy tail. I love to play with crumpled Post-Its. I get treat in my purple bowl, and I get to take naps in sunbeams. Everything turned out pretty good, but I did not know that would be the case before I got rescued. It is still part of who I am, and I cannot change it.

It is like that with Anty’s characters. They make mistakes, and they have been through some things that are not entirely happy or nice, but they still get to find somebody who loves them and get a forever home by the end of the book. No matter how hard the road may be to a happily ever after in a romance novel (and it can get pretty hard in Anty’s) it always ends in a good place. I think that is a very good thing. If we are going through difficult times, that means we are in the middle of the story.

Speaking of the middle of the story, Anty needs the computer back because it is writing time, so that is about it for this week. Until next time, I remain very truly yours,

Skye O’Malley Hart-Bowling
(the kitty, not the book)

Until next week...

Until next week…

2 thoughts on “Typing With Wet Claws: Sensitive Topics Edition

  1. Hello Skye,
    I wish Bad Apples didn’t have to show up and write bad comments, but sadly that is part of the life experience too. I think your Anty’s article was very good, and it helps other people to see that they are not alone.

    • Thank you, Anty SueAnn.

      Anty is glad you liked her article. Other people have said her article made them feel less alone, and that is a good thing.

      Very truly yours,

      Skye

Leave a Reply

