Typing With Wet Claws: At the Movies Edition

Hello, all. Skye here, for another Feline Friday.

This has been a very full week for all the humans in my house. They say they do not always know what day it is, which I find hard to believe, with all the calendars we have, but humans are complicated creatures. I am glad I am a kitty.

See? Full time fur coat. Toasty.

See? Full time fur coat. Toasty.

I am also glad that my readers are interested in how I am doing. It is true that it has been very cold outside this week, but I am an indoor kitty, and we have heaters built into the walls in every room. Plus I have a full length fur coat that I wear all the time (I was born with it) so I am not cold at all.  If anybody has questions for me, put them in the comments and I will do my best to answer them. Anty may have to help me with some of the big words, but I will do the best I can.

Anty is still in her magpie phase, which means lots of pens and notebooks, and movies. She is watching a lot of movies now. There are not a lot of cats in them, so I do not know what the appeal is. She says it is things like plots and character arcs and actors and cinematography. Story stuff. I still think cats would make everything better, but only if nothing bad happens to the cats in the movies. I would not like movies where bad things happen to cats. So no cats is better than that.  But I digress.

Watching movies with a writer is different than watching movies with regular people. Regular people watch the movie, and that is it. Writers, at least writers like Anty, don’t only watch the movie, they analyze it. Anty likes to watch the bar at the bottom of the screen move forward, so she can tell how far into the story the movie is. When the bar reaches the halfway point, she says that is always when the big problem that changes everything happens. She seems to really like watching for that part. I do not know why that part makes her so happy, no matter the movie, but it does. She says it helps her learn how to tell stories better, so I guess that is a good thing.

I have stopped trying to figure out what makes Anty pick a particular movie. This week, she saw Starship Troopers, The Spectacular Now, What If and Delivery Man.  That last one, she found out, is an American remake of a Canadian movie called Starbuck, and she wants to see that one, too. It is in French, and though she does not speak French, there are subtitles, and she can figure things out from a few words that she knows. She is pretty good with languages, I think, because she knows what all my sounds mean.  Eck-eck, for example, means “Please put that cat food in my dish. I am hungry.”

The Christmas decorations are finally all down, but Anty is not sure what she wants to put up in their place. She has mentioned maybe getting a catnip plant. I have not been interested in catnip so far, but Anty reminded me that I have only been given dried catnip and the live plant may be a whole different story. Anty is usually pretty good with stories, so I guess we will see if she is right once she actually gets the plant.

i1035 FW1.1

That is about it for this week, so, until next time, I remain very truly yours,

Skye O’Malley Hart-Bowling
(the kitty, not the book)

2 thoughts on “Typing With Wet Claws: At the Movies Edition

  1. Hi Skye,
    Bailey also has a fur coat that he was born with. He gets very impatient with me when I have to put on all my layers of clothes to take him outside for his walk. But he forgives me as soon as we get outside!

    • Hi, Miss SueAnn. Born-with fur coats are very useful. I am glad Bailey has his. Humans do have to put on a lot of clothes to go outside in the winter, but I bet it is worth it to take Bailey outside. Dogs like walks. I like staying inside.

      Very truly yours,

      Skye O’Malley Hart-Bowling
      the kitty, not the book.

Leave a Reply

