NaNot Ramblings: Week One, So far

i1035 FW1.1

I know I now have the choice to write what the heck I want to write, how I want to write it, and to make it as long and big and bold as I want to make it.
Marsha Canham

The plan for this month (and hopefully continuing) is to post at least thrice weekly. Monday, Wednesday and Friday are ideal. Today is Tuesday. Above is the picture that should have run on Feline Friday.This should give some indication of how the week has started.

Which is okay. We’re halfway through the first week of November, NaNo for many. I’m sitting out on the word count this year, but not on the writing, and so far, so good. Head down, eyes on own paper, focus on the scene and forget about word count entirely seems to be working. I’m feeling relaxed and confident, moving the story (stories, as I’m multitasking) forward and it’s, for lack of a better word, right for right now.

The place we lived before we moved to Albany was on the same street as our local Panera, and for quite some time, I would get up every weekday morning, get dressed, pack up computer and head there, sometimes arriving slightly ahead of opening. Today and yesterday, I packed up computer, put on clothing that would not look out of place were I going to one of the offices or medical facilities around our local Panera and took a walk through the park to create a home office away from home office. Bagel, tea, same as I used to in the old place, find a table with an outlet, and down to business.

Both days, the wifi was down, which meant the only thing I could do was write. Okay, then. Guests in scrubs and lab coats came and went. Deprived of Spotify, I listened instead to recordings from this year’s RWA National conference, as well as the, um, eclectic selection of music saved in my media player, and I wrote. Puzzled out the scenes I’d planned for both days, head down, shoulder to wheel as it were, and things happened.

Scene not working? Could I have missed a step? What would have happened between the last scene and the scene I’m finding a challenge? Try writing that. Nine times out of ten, that’s at least half of the problem. Blinking cursor staring me down? Try longhand. Bic pen? Fountain pen? Both have their uses. It’s a coming home of sorts, taking off the expectations and allowing myself to actually tell the stories. It’s different, maybe, from what I’ve felt I’m “supposed” to do, but am I moving forward? Yes. Are there more pages filled when I pack up my popup office and head for home? Yes. Do I feel good about what I wrote? Yes. I call that winning, at least from this perspective.

2 thoughts on “NaNot Ramblings: Week One, So far

  1. I love the quote at the beginning of this article. Thank you for posting it. Also, kudos on your “rogue” status. In my opinion, it doesn’t matter whether you do NaNoWriMo or not as long as you make creativity a priority in your life in some way. Keep it up!

  2. Thanks, Kate. Today’s quote is one of my all time favorites, and Marsha Canham is definitely a rogue hero(ine.) She walked away from traditional publishing, took some time and came back indie and better than ever.

    Kudos gratefully accepted. As long as the writing is getting done, to NaNo or not to NaNo is an individual choice. This year, I made the right one for me.

Leave a Reply

