To NaNo or Not to NaNo: the benefits

i1035 FW1.1Big surprise, I’m still not decided on whether or not I’m officially signing on for NaNo madness. To all new readers who wonder if I always natter on about something of this nature, the answer is probably yes. Talking and thinking happen at the same time with me a good deal of the time, and I do like to examine things from multiple angles, so it’s safe to say I’ll be hopping over both sides of the fence until I finally have to pick one.

Last post, I talked about one of my biggest bugaboos about participating in NaNo, so with this one, I’m going to look at the other side of the coin and examine the plusses. For me, the biggest one is the sense of community. Moving from an area where I’d lived for decades to a place that was totally new was a big adjustment, but finding a local NaNo community as well as a fabulous RWA chapter made a big difference. Last year, the kickoff party was held at the coffee house where I write most weekdays. Getting plunked down in a room full of strangers who like to do what I like to do is always fun for me, and I have made some friends from my NaNo contacts. I’d be happy to do the same this year as well.

It has been suggested I can fake my way in, attend the write-ins even without signing up, and that’s a possibility. Though now I may have outed myself on that plan, but if they’re held in public places, who’s going to stop me, hm? Or maybe not. We’ll see.

Three pages of this, but no spaces, so NaNo count would say it's one word. Darned second keyboard.

Three pages of this, but no spaces, so NaNo count would say it’s one word.
Darned second keyboard.

There is always the option of joining the rebel camp, which I have done before, but not in the same way I’d be doing it this year. If I do it. I do have to admit I like the sneakiness of being a rebel. The new project (still deciding how much I want to talk about it while under construction) would be starting from scratch, so it is a new work, but I’d also likely split my time between new and existing projects because I am in love with two stories right now, and it’s not a matter of picking one or the other. It’s an and situation here. I like working on more than one thing at one time. Working on one thing feeds my desire to work on the other, and if I’m at a roadblock with one, then I can take a break, work on the other and come back with new perspective.

Oh well, looky there, new rules say I don’t have to start from scratch and can continue with a WIP. New food for thought, and I still don’t know. What I do know is that not knowing has helped me meet one of my other goals, that of growing this blog and posting more often, so the blabber is doing some good. I’d never meant to have a break from blogging; quite the opposite, but overthinking got me there as well. Here, I get on, I blabber, I put up pictures because I put up pictures, and on with the show. So, still undecided as we head into the final week, and this may well continue, but that rule change does tip things every so slightly into the yea category. Which may change. Or not.

Off to wander the moors and contemplate...

Off to wander the moors and contemplate…

4 thoughts on “To NaNo or Not to NaNo: the benefits

  1. Interesting, there are a whole bunch of comments by rebels! I have decided I am going to be a rebel and continue on with last years WIP…I don’t care about the 50,000 words or “winning”. I got approx 35,000 words last year and if I double that, I might be ready for a real edit. So maybe we can create ReNaNo (Rebel Nano). 🙂

  2. I like that ReNaNo bit. This may have to happen. I’d like not to care about the 50k words, but part of me actually does. Maybe I can wrestle that particular alligator into submission.

  3. I do the same thing–I have an external keyboard hooked up to my laptop because the keys to my laptop were made for kid hands. I do not have kid hands–definitely not. Anyway, enjoy NaNo. My first zombie book (shameless plug) came from there in 2011, and it was the most intense experience ever. I wouldn’t trade it in for the world, though.

    • Good to know I’m not the only one with an external keyboard. I do have tiny hands, but apparently, I used them a lot on this thing. Congrats on your first zombie book coming from NaNo. I do like zombies, so I’ll have to have a look.

      I’m all for intense experiences, so looking forward to a good November.

Leave a Reply

